List of East African Countries and Capitals

All East African Countries and Capitals Cover Image

The following table shows a list of East African countries and capitals, their currencies and population. The area of East Africa has 19 countries and a total of around 420 million inhabitants and is divided in five subregions: the East African Community, the Horn of Africa, Southeast Africa, the Nile Valley and the island nations in the Indian Ocean.

Here is the List of East African Countries and Capitals

Country NameCapitalPopulation in 2019CurrencyEast African Subregion
BurundiGitega9,823,828Burundi francEast African Community
KenyaNairobi45,533,000Kenyan shillingEast African Community
RwandaKigali10,515,973Rwandan francEast African Community
TanzaniaDodoma51,046,000Tanzanian shillingEast African Community
UgandaKampala34,856,813Ugandan shillingEast African Community
DjiboutiDjibouti City864,618Djiboutian francHorn of Africa
EritreaAsmara6,536,000Eritrean nakfaHorn of Africa
EthiopiaAddis Ababa99,391,000Ethiopian biirHorn of Africa
SomaliaMogadishu12,316,895Somali shillingHorn of Africa
ComorosMoroni806,200Comorian francIndian Ocean
MadagascarAntananarivo22,434,363Malagasy ariaryIndian Ocean
MauritiusPort Louis1,261,208Mauritian rupeeIndian Ocean
SeychellesVictoria90,945Seychellois rupeeIndian Ocean
South SudanJuba8,260,490South Sudanese poundNile Valley
SudanKhartoum40,235,000Sudanese poungNile Valley
MalawiLilongwe16,832,900Malawian kwachaSoutheast Africa
MozambiqueMaputo28,013,000Mozambican meticalSoutheast Africa
ZambiaLusaka15,473,905Zambian kwachaSoutheast Africa
ZimbabweHarare13,061,239RTGS DollarSoutheast Africa

Since there are several definitions of the region, the question how many countries are in East Africa is not easily answered. According to our definition, East Africa has 19 countries. The five countries Kenya, Tanzania, Uganda, Rwanda and Burundi are the countries of the East African Community. The subregion of Southeastern Africa consists of Zambia, Zimbabwe, Malawi and Mozambique. On the Horn of Africa, there are also four countries: Ethiopia, Eritrea, Djibouti and Somalia. Sudan and South Sudan in the Nile Valley are also considered countries in East Africa. In addition to the countries on the mainland, there are four island nations in East Africa: Comoros, Madagascar, Seychelles and Mauritius.

East African Countries Map

Below, you can find a map of East African countries.

East African Countries Map

The East African Community countries Kenya, Uganda, Rwanda, Tanzania and Burundi are shown in plain color. The countries of Southeastern Africa Zambia, Zimbabwe, Malawi and Mozambique are shown with black stripes. Sudan and South Sudan in the Nile Valley are shown with diagonal stripes. The four countries on the Horn of Africa are shown with a crosshatch. The African island countries in the Indian Ocean have a dotted pattern.

Click here for a list of all African countries and their capitals in alphabetical order. And here for a list of all countries in West Africa and their capitals.

In our past travels, we’ve visited several countries in East Africa already. Read our guides on the exciting Danakil Depression in northern Ethiopia with a visit to one of the largest lava lakes in the world or about our experiences in Djibouti.

Pin this post of East African countries and their capitals for later by clicking on the image below:

List of East African Countries and Capitals, currencies and their population
List of East African Countries and Capitals

One thought on “List of East African Countries and Capitals

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to top