African Countries and Currency

There are 54 independent countries in Africa. Similar to the Euro in Europe, most countries in West Africa use a joint currency called West African CFA franc. In Central Africa, several countries use the Central African CFA franc. Overall, there are 43 different currencies used in Africa. Below, you can find a list of all African countries, capital and currency.

You can also download a PDF version of the list of all countries in Africa and their currencies. Just scroll down to the bottom of the page or click here.

Follow the links below for our country and currency lists for other world regions: The World | Asia | Europe | North America | Oceania | South America

List of African countries and currency

By default, the list shows the countries of Africa alphabetically. You can also use the sorting function at the top of the table to show all African currencies alphabetically.

AlgeriaAlgerian dinar
BurundiBurundian franc
Cape VerdeCape Verdean escudo
CameroonCentral African CFA franc
Central African RepublicCentral African CFA franc
ChadCentral African CFA franc
Equatorial GuineaCentral African CFA franc
GabonCentral African CFA franc
Republic of the CongoCentral African CFA franc
SenegalCFA franc
TogoCFA franc
ComorosComorian franc
Democratic Republic of the CongoCongolese franc
DjiboutiDjiboutian franc
Sao Tome and PrincipeDobra
EgyptEgyptian pound
EritreaEritrean nakfa
EthiopiaEthiopian birr
GambiaGambian dalasi
GhanaGhana cedi
GuineaGuinean franc
KenyaKenyan shilling
Sierra LeoneLeone
LesothoLesotho loti
LiberiaLiberian dollara
LibyaLibyan dinar
MadagascarMalagasy ariary
MauritiusMauritian rupee
MoroccoMoroccan dirham
MozambiqueMozambican metical
NamibiaNamibian dollar
RwandaRwandan franc
SeychellesSeychellois rupee
SomaliaSomali shilling
South AfricaSouth African rand
SwazilandSouth African randSwazi lilangeni
South SudanSouth Sudanese pound
SudanSudanese pound
TanzaniaTanzanian shilling
TunisiaTunisian dinar
UgandaUgandan shilling
ZimbabweUnited States dollar, RTGS dollar
BeninWest African CFA franc
Burkina FasoWest African CFA franc
Côte d’Ivoire (Ivory Coast)West African CFA franc
Guinea-BissauWest African CFA franc
MaliWest African CFA franc
NigerWest African CFA franc
ZambiaZambian kwacha

Download the Africa capital and currency list

To start the download, just click on the button below. There is no login or email address required.

African Countries and Currency

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to top